Bringing Sunshine to Our Lives – Global Grade 3

A link to Global Grade 3's original post...

http://globalgrade3.cbegloballearning.ca/blog/2012/06/14/excitement-and-sadness-our-last-skype-with-ashli/

Hello Global Grade 3,

 I’m sorry it has taken me a week to respond to your “Excitement AND sadness … our LAST Skype with Ashli” post. I have been very busy on a DVD project for a multi-school music camp. I won’t clutter up this comment with an explanation but below is a link explaining what the DVD project was if you are interested.

https://rossmannellcomments.edublogs.org/2012/06/22/the-unexpected-dvd-project-a-sub-comment-for-global-grade-3/

Now to your post…

Sadness at your last Skype as Grade Three Bloggers.

I’ll share a quote with you…

“God gave us memory so that we might have roses in December.”

James Matthew Barrie (The creator of “Peter Pan”), Rectorial address, May 3, 1922, St. Andrew’s University, Scotland

James Barrie was reminding us it’s our memories we carry with us into the future. While experiences may pass, the memories can linger on beyond simply a new school year.

In the future, you may be parents with children of your own. They might say something about an experience like yours at school. Memories will come back to mind and, for a time, you’ll be back Skyping with Ashli.

It’s memories made when important things to us happen we remember most easily. I know this is so as I have a clear memory of something that happened to me when I was only three years old, now over 50 years ago.

Okay, I know you’re curious to read if it was a good memory so I’ll share. In my case, it was the day I learned little boys shouldn’t touch mummy’s peeling knife. I still have a small scar on my left thumb. 🙂 I was and still am curious about many things I encounter. We should never stop learning.

The Glitch

You might have heard the old saying, “You can lead a horse to water but you can’t make them drink.

Providing the opportunity to experience the library, children would be excited and keen to take part. It’s that curiosity that sets us all on a path of learning. For adults more concerned about everyday existence, the library wouldn’t be high in their thoughts but the change has been made.

Remember the Butterfly Effect? The wings have been flapped. Maybe an adult will come along with a child wanting to visit. Perhaps they will share a book. Interested in their child’s curiosity, they may want to know more and possibly learn how to use the library. This would mean the community would need future visits to help.

A small salary would help attract people to the library operation. They might see the financial benefit at first but come to love the interaction with visiting children. In time, the money would not be as important. We can only hope.

Finishing the School Year

“Those who bring sunshine to the lives of others cannot keep it from themselves.”

 James Matthew Barrie quotes (Scottish Dramatist and Novelist best known as the creator of Peter Pan, 1860-1937)

The way you all have been able to help others this school year has brought sunshine into the lives of others and therefore sunshine into your own lives. Your buckets have been filling and soon it will be time to move on.

 I hope you all keep bringing sunshine and filling buckets in the new school year.

@RossMannell

Teacher, NSW, Australia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *