For Charlotte and her dragon story

A link to Charlotte's short story...

http://y4haworthprimary2011.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/the-dragon/

Hello Charlotte,

Oh, very well done! You build the suspense so well as the boys enter the cave then you add a little twist that made me laugh, the dragon ran away scared of the boys. It seems the dragon was really a softie.

Your story reminded me a little of a gentle, invisible dragon named Elliot and his friend Pete. They were in a 1977 movie entitled, "Pete's Dragon". I've found a link on a movie database if you are permitted to take a look. It shows images of Elliot and even includes some clips from the film...

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0076538/

Pete's Dragon was around when I started teaching. My first full time school was in an isolated place way out in western New South Wales (my state). A new wall had been built and I decided to paint a cartoon character on it. If you look at the photo of that school below, on the right you can see a wall with a dragon. That's Elliot.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Thank you for sharing your short story. 🙂

@RossMannell

Teacher, NSW, Australia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *