What is my favourite season? – an answer to a post on the 4KM and 4KJ blog

To see the 4KM and 4KJ post...

Winter Holidays

SPRING

The grass is green and growing in the warming sunshine.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

The blooming flowers bring colour to nature and food for the animals.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

SUMMER

The country show season begins each year.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

The surf at the beach when the days are hot.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

AUTUMN

The days grow shorter and the weather cool.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Mornings can be foggy and smoke from wood fires hangs in the still air.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

WINTER

Some trees lose their leaves. The grass and reeds are brown. The days are short and the nights cold and long.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Winter storms bring rough seas.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Which season is my favourite? Whatever season I'm in. There's always more to discover as the seasons change and the years pass.

5 thoughts on “What is my favourite season? – an answer to a post on the 4KM and 4KJ blog

  1. Olivia

    Hi Ross,

    Thanks for sharing your information, I l♥ved it. I think you write great posts for everyone to see. Have fun when you write more.

    I don’ know which season you are in and I am not sure if we ave to guess or something ❓

    Anyway I am so sorry this was a sort comment it is just my BFF is coming over ❗

    Keep blogging
    Olivia Or Liv 😆

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Hi Liv,

      I live in a strange country called Australia in an even stranger state called New South Wales. About an hour drive from here I can cross into Victoria. I am in winter just like the distant land of Geelong. 🙂

      Ross Mannell

      Reply
      1. Olivia

        Hi Ross,

        Thanks for the reply. Yes I agree that Australia is a bit of a weird name but I don’t think New South Wales is a weird name.

        I have been there and I went there earlier in the year. It was great fun and the amount of swimming I did was amazing. I loved it when it rained.

        I was wondering if you would like to leave a comment on my latest post about the movies. In case you were wondering there will be a new post up tomorrow about the Football Clinic I am doing tomorrow with my brother.

        Thanks,
        Liv 😆

        P.S Here is the address o my blog if you have lost it: http://olivias.global2.vic.edu.au/

        Reply
        1. rossmannell

          Post author

          Hello Liv,

          Australia is a little unusual but it comes from a Latin language base. For a long time before European explorers sailed far enough south, people in Europe supposed there must be a large area of land down south otherwise the world wouldn’t be in balance. We know better these days but science and exploration back then wasn’t as advanced.

          The unknown southern land was named, Terra Australis (“South Land” or, in the order of the two words, “Land South”). Australia comes from Australis. Matthew Flinders was an English explorer who first gave Australia it’s name. He decided it was unlikely there would be any significant land further south. It was still many years before Antarctica would be explored.

          I will be visiting your blog shortly. 🙂

          Ross Mannell

          Reply
          1. Olivia

            Hi Ross,

            This isn’t really a reply because I didn’t read all of the comment you replied back to me. I am so sorry I just wanted to tell you I have written the post on my blog about the Footy Clinic.

            It would be fantastic if you could have a look read it, tell me what I did wrong or what mistakes I made. http://olivias.global2.vic.edu.au/2013/07/09/football-clinic/

            Got to Gallop,
            Liv 😆 😀 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *