For Emily from Michigan who was interested in Australia

Hello Emily,

You seemed interested in Australia and what can be seen. There are many natural and human things to be seen if you travel the country

whether it's in cities such as Sydney...

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

or the natural Australian locations such as a quiet hinterland pool near the Sunshine Coast in Queensland

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

a beach in north-east Queensland with the Great Barrier Reef off its shores

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Cradle Mountain in Tasmania

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

under its waters

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

(This photo is a bit of a cheat. I realised I didn't have any Australian underwater photos in my collection. I took this in New Zealand waters. I must see if I can add some Aussie ones to my collection if I get an underwater camera.)

or even along a track in my town half way between Sydney and Melbourne

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

But one thing just about all tourists want to see are the animals unique to Australia

Blue-tongued lizard - cool and smooth to the touch

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Snakes like the non-poisonous black-headed python

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Echidna (spiny ant eater) a mammal which lays eggs

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

emu  - a flightless bird not quite as big as the ostrich

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

kookaburra - whose call sounds like it's laughing

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

kangaroos - which can bound across open land

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Koala - which spends up to 22 hours a day sleeping

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

These animals can be seen in the wild as I have with most of them but for many visitors their encounter is in a zoo or animal sanctuary. Some friends run such a place near my town. I made a short You Tube clip featuring some of their animals. You can see it below.

Schools and students have permission to use this video clip for non-commercial, educational purposes.

If you one day do come to Australia, I don't think you'll have much trouble finding things to see and do.

@RossMannell

51 thoughts on “For Emily from Michigan who was interested in Australia

  1. nick

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    You have attracted my attention with your beautiful blog. How did you get all of these amazing pictures? The coolest pic I thought was the water fall. I have never been to a real waterfall. That is most beautiful waterfall I have ever seen.

    From,
    Nick
    Techie Kids

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Nick,

      I have been a keen photographer for around 40 years and have around 40,000 of photos in my collection. Some go back to the days when I used only black and white film or colored slides. I am slowly converting all old negatives and slides into computer files. When complete, there will probably be over 50,000 photos. They are great resources. When I need something for a blog, I search my collection for ones I can use.

      Here is the same waterfall link I gave Anthony…
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_waterfalls_of_Australia

      @RossMannell

      Reply
      1. Nick

        Dear Mr.Mannell,

        Thank you for replying to my post. I went to your website you gave me and saw all the water falls. They were beautiful. Imagine that in your backyard. Thank you for everything.

        Your friend ,
        Nick
        Techie Kids

        Reply
  2. anthony

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    I liked all of the wonderful photos. How did you get them? My favorite was the water fall. I have been to the Tahquamenon falls in the Upper Peninsula in Michigan. It’s a little different from yours and its a little wider. It’s brown water like a copper color. I thought someone melted a trillion pennies and made them liquid. When I climbed it the two levels were 96 feet of stairs. and the waterfall was far out and somewhat tall.

    Mrs. Moore said that Australia has bigger waterfalls than we do. Can you tell me anything about your waterfalls?

    Your freind,
    Anthony
    Techie kids http://edublogs msd.net/techiekids/

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Anthony,

      Most photos in my collection were taken by me over the last 40 years. Some were taken by family and just a few by others.

      There are a number of waterfalls in Australia but nothing as spectacular as U.S.A.’s Yosemite Waterfall or Niagara Falls. Our highest is only around 255m (836ft) whereas Yosemite is 739m (2425ft). Australia is a much drier country than U.S.A.. Huge areas are desert or very dry.

      Here is a link giving some details of Australia’s waterfalls…
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_waterfalls_of_Australia

      We have some rivers in Australia that look brownish. The color is caused by something called tannin. It comes from trees and is brownish in color. I suspect your river may be colored in the same way.

      @RossMannell

      Reply
      1. anthony

        Dear Mr. Mannell,

        We did some research and it said exactly what you said. The Tahquamenon falls are colored by tannins. That was cool. Thank you for the link. My favorite one was the Wannon falls. Me and my friend Nick said, “imagine if that was in your backyard.” Have you been to the Wannon falls. Where was it?

        Your friend,
        Anthony
        Techie kids

        Reply
  3. Andrew

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    How did you take all of those pictures they look so cool. The waterfall is my favorite picture. I have never been to a waterfall. Why do they call the mountain cradel mountain? I think it looks like a big cradel.

    From,
    Andrew
    Techie Kids

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Andrew,

      I have been taking photos for many year and have thousands in my iPhoto collection. When I want a photo for one of my blogs, I look through my collection for some I can use.
      You are correct about Cradle Mountain. Someone thought it look like a cradle. 🙂

      @RossMannell

      Reply
  4. sarah

    Dear Mr. Ross Mannell,

    The pictures are so pretty! My favorite pictures are, the one of East Queensland, and the koala bear. Did you ever see a koala bear in action? I have a friend who has a cousin that lives in Australia. She also has a house in the U.S. I live in the U.S.

    Your Friend ,
    Sarah From Techie Kids

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Sarah,

      I have seen koalas both in the wild and in zoos and animal sanctuaries. I’ve even held one although it was in an animal sanctuary. I wouldn’t try holding a wild one. I have photographed and filmed them a number of times. I have a video I took of Suzie the koala and one of the first time’s her baby daughter stuck her head out of Suzie’s pouch. They do quite a bit of growing before looking outside the pouch.

      Here is a link to a mini-post I made so you can see Suzie and her baby…
      http://rossmannellcomments.edublogs.org/2013/03/07/so-sarah-can-see-a-koala-video-from-my-collection/

      @RossMannell

      Reply
  5. Maddy

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    All these pictures pictures are amazing! I would love to visit these locations. The pictures of the beach and the waterfall were my favorite. The animals were interesting too. I liked the kangaroos, they were my favorite. It must be very interesting to live in Australia. I would love to live there, but I can’t live with out my family.

    Sincerely,
    Maddy
    Techie Kids
    Michigan, USA

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Maddy,

      Australia is a big country but not quite as big as U.S.A.. What makes us different is Australia is really a huge island so it has a very large area of coastline. It’s also a long way from many countries so many of its animals are only found here. The strangest are the platypus and echidna. They are mammals but they lay eggs. When their young hatch, the females give them milk like any other mammal. 🙂

      @RossMannell

      Reply
      1. Maddy

        Dear Mr. Mannell,

        Thank you for the information! I did not know that platypuses and echidnas live in Australia. You learn something new everyday. I think it’s very cool that Australia is one big island.

        Your Friend,
        Maddy

        Reply
  6. Emily

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    Thank you so much for these pictures and this blog post. I can’t believe that you did this for me. I love it! These pictures are so amazing! The hinterland pool looks so peaceful. Again, thanks so much for this!

    But can I ask one thing? What is the building in the first picture? I feel like I have seen pictures of it before, but I don’t remember what it is.

    How did you get the pictures under water? Scuba diving? Snorkeling?

    Sincerely,
    Emily
    Techie Kids

    Reply
      1. Emily

        Dear Mr. Mannell,

        Another blog post! That is awesome! Thanks so much! I am on my way there now!

        Sincerely,
        Emily
        Techie Kids

        Reply
  7. Riley

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    I really liked the pictures of Australia you posted. I love animals and nature and I hope you can post any more pictures you have of Australian animals. The koala bear was really cute! What is your Favorite animal? I also really like to travel and I hope that one day I can visit Australia and see all those things in your pictures.

    Sincerely,
    Riley
    Techie Kids

    Reply
  8. Claire

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    Wow, those pictures are so cool. I am part of Emily’s class and we think that it is so cool the you made a post just for her. Those pictures that you took are awesome. I know one of them is a theatre and it is one of my wishes to see it better one day. I am a ballet dancer and hope to dance there one day. I would like to see what that area looks like. I have some questions about your blog. How do you like blogging? Also do you have any tips or ideas for a new blogger? Thanks so much for reading my comment and have a great day.

    Sincerley,
    Claire
    Techie Kids

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Claire,

      Like a comment from Ben, this comment was in the blog’s spam folder. Sometimes our spam filters make a mistake but I approved your comment so it is where it belogs.

      I can remember another comment where someone mentioned an international ballet competition called the Prix de Fonteyn. I hadn’t heard of this competition said to be held in the Opera House so I dd some research and found it was a fictional competition for a TV series. Ballet is performed at times but there are also operas, orchestras and school performances there.

      I really only started blogging about half way through 2011 because I was curious. Back then I would not have guessed how much blogging has become part of my life. I think I gave some tips for blogging in another comment. I wonder if the blog repeated this comment.

      My tops for a new blogger would be to blog about things you like or enjoy, keep regular posts coming so readers keep coming back and leave comments on the blogs of others because their posts may give you ideas and they might visit your blog if you have left a comment on their blog. Mostly, have fun blogging. I do. 🙂

      @RossMannell

      Reply
  9. Dani

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    Beautiful photos! These remind me of the photos that my cousins sent me when they lived in Australia. They were supposed to live there for 3 years, but they got to come back early. I didn’t get a chance to go down there, but my aunt and uncle got to. My cousins were very excited to see their grandparents. We thought my youngest cousin, Addi, was going to have the accent because she was a toddler. I really wish I could have gone to visit them. Australia is beautiful country, and I would love to go there.

    Do you like living in Australia?

    From,
    Dani
    Techie Kids
    Michigan, USA
    IC

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Dani,

      Australia is my home so it isn’t hard to like living here. I grew up in Sydney where much of my father’s side of the family lived. This side of the family traces a relative back to 1789 when he arrived as a convict. My family name wasn’t the convict name but arrived as free settlers. As far as I know, anyone with my last name in Australia is a relative.

      The area where I now live has had members of my family since 1847. My mother’s side of the family had been immigrants from Scotland and dairy farmers. My cousin now runs the farm.

      I love it here. I have walked most roads and explored many trails through the national parks and nature reserve in my area.

      @RossMannell

      Reply
      1. Dani

        Dear Mr Mannell,

        That’s an awesome story about your family! My cousins lived in Victoria. Do you ever go to Victoria? What is your favorite part about Australia? I have always wondered about what it would be like to live in Australia. I hope I can go there one day!

        Is there any wild horses in Australia? If so, what breeds are there? I wish there was wild horses in Michigan.

        I’m sorry it took so long for me to reply. I haven’t checked your blog in a while. We only had technology class one day this week.

        Hope you have an amazing day! 🙂

        Your Friend,
        Dani
        Techie Kids

        Reply
        1. rossmannell

          Post author

          Dear Dani,

          My town lies along the coast in the far south of New South Wales. It only takes me about an hour’s drive to cross the border into Victoria but it takes more like six hours to reach Melbourne, Victoria’s capital. May favourite part of Australia is where I live. I have national parks for hiking, beautiful coastlines and beaches, a small colony of little penguins aren’t too far from here, whales migrate along the coast and there are picturesque old towns around. Especially, I like the schools in my region because they allow me to make DVDs of their shows.

          Horses aren’t native to Australia but many have escaped in the wild so we do have wild horses. We call them “brumbies”. I can remember camping out in an area known as Blue Gum Forest when I was a scout. I woke to what I thought was thunder but, looking out of my tent, I saw a herd of brumbies running through. 🙂
          Here is a link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brumby

          Don’t worry about taking time to contact. I know what it’s like. I have a queue of school blogs waiting a visit and so it can sometimes take longer than I like to visit all. 🙂

          @RossMannell

          Reply
  10. Alexis

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    I really love animals too. I love animals so much that I hope to be a vet someday. I love all the pictures you are sending us and I would like you to send some more if you would like to. My favorite animals are horses and I hope to get one someday.

    I really like your blog that you have and I appreciate all the pictures you are sending us. Thanks for them.

    Sincerely,
    Alexis
    Techie Kids

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Alexis,

      I do a number of things in my region since retiring. One is helping out in our local country show. As well as helping to set up, I do video and photography for the show. The show includes dressage and show jumping events.

      I will share some photos with you soon so keep an eye on this post. I’ll add a link when I can put it together. You may notice the faces of children are blanked out. I do this as a matter of privacy.

      @RossMannell

      Reply
    2. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Alexis,

      A post for you is next in line. It will show some of my horse photos taken most at my local country show. It will hopefully be ready in a day or two.

      @RossMannell

      Reply
  11. Katey

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    All the pictures you posted are very cool! I love animals! My favorite animal is a dog. All these pictures you posted make me want to visit Australia some day! If I ever did visit Australia where would you suggest I visit? I’m looking forward to your reply! 🙂

    From,
    Katey
    Techie Kids

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Katey,

      There are many places to visit in Australia. It’s almost as large as U.S.A. in area.

      Capital Cities – Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra (our capital city and the closest to me), Darwin, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney

      National Parks – Here is a link to my state’s national park site. It has links to other state groups…
      http://www.environment.nsw.gov.au/parkinfo/
      In particular, check the links to
      Uluru and Kata Tjuta in central Australia
      Kakadu National Park in Northern Australia
      Great Barrier Reef National Park

      There are also the various Aboriginal cultures to discover. Here is a link to an extended comment I made for another class…
      http://rossmannellcomments.edublogs.org/2012/10/31/aboriginal-cultural-resource-links-for-the-roadrunners/

      Of course we also have many animals to see in the wild, zoos and animal sanctuaries.

      Keep watching for a link on this post. I’ll share some photos of my area. It’s on the South Coast of New South Wales. As well as national parks, it has beautiful beaches and coastline and is a popular place to go out and see the annual whale migration along our coast.

      @RossMannell

      Reply
  12. Mrs

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    Wow, those pictures are so cool. I am part of Emily’s class and we think that it is so cool the you made a post just for her. Those pictures that you took are awesome. I know one of them is a theatre and it is one of my wishes to see it better one day. I am a ballet dancer and hope to dance there one day. I would like to see what that area looks like.

    I have some questions about your blog. How do you like blogging? Also do you have any tips or ideas for a new blogger? Thanks so much for reading my comment and have a great day.

    Sincerley,
    Claire
    Techie Kids

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Claire,

      As you love ballet, here is a link to The Australia Ballet…
      http://www.australianballet.com.au/

      They perform in each city and in regional areas. I mentioned to another in your class my niece is training in costume design and hopes to work with an opera or ballet company once qualified. Wouldn’t it be incredible if one day you were performing here and she designed your costume?

      I know some people believe I have been blogging for a long time because I have been using computers with students since 1981 but I really only started blogging about half way through 2011. As I no longer have a class of my own, blogging has become a way I can share with students around the world.

      This blog, as an example, was only started in May, 2012. I wanted to share links, photos and videos but this wasn’t possible in the comments section of someone’s blog. Now in less than a year it is approaching 35,000 visitors. I had no idea so many would think this blog worth visiting.

      What tips can I give for a new blogger? Write about things you enjoy or want to share. Make regular entries so people want to keep visiting. Visit other blogs and comment on their posts because they might visit your blog to see what you have written. Establish links with classes and students in other schools. Blogging buddies can be like virtual friends. Above all, have fun blogging. If it becomes a chore, it can become boring.

      Keep blogging.
      @RossMannel

      Reply
  13. Anikka

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    I love your pictures! Australia looks so beautiful! 🙂 It is really cool to see the animal pictures you posted, because I never even knew some of them existed! I hope to talk to you soon! 😉
    -Anikka from Techie Kids

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Anikka,

      If we have the chance to go out and discover the world, there are so many beautiful places, cultures, animals and plants out there. Each continent has its own unique animals and plants, its own places of natural beauty, and cultures (except perhaps Antarctica where there are no permanent people).

      @RossMannell

      Reply
      1. Anikka

        Dear Mr. Mannell,

        Thank you for replying! 🙂 You are certainly right about that. So what is your favorite animal that lives in Australia? My favorite animal in the U.S. is the owl. I have one in my backyard and it sometimes keeps me up at night with all of its hooting. 😛 Anyway, thank you for replying!

        Sincerely,
        Anikka 🙂

        Reply
        1. rossmannell

          Post author

          Dear Anikka,

          We have owls in Australia as also. There was an animated movie made based on Australian owls. Have you heard of
          “Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole” The artwork in the animations is superb. It came out in 2010 and was rated PG. Here is a link to the movie information…
          http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1219342/

          I don’t really think of favourite animals or not. I like most I encounter whether from bugs to snakes, lizards, kangaroos and birds. As family pets, I’ve had dogs and birds.

          I once cared for an orphaned kangaroo joey (baby) until I was able to deliver it to a zoo. It was a funny little guy. He’d hop up to me and give me a kick. Luckily he was small. 🙂

          At schools, students knew I would help injured animals. Teachers knew I would help with spider removals but I wouldn’t kill them, only release them outside.

          Can you imagine the surprise for one teacher? She saw me moving across the playground stamping on the ground. When she came to investigate, she found I was chasing a juvenile poisonous snake off the playground. She was worried about it biting but snakes really can’t move that fast and I kept my distance. 🙂

          @Ross Mannell

          Reply
          1. Anikka

            Dear Mr. Mannell,

            Thank You for telling me about that movie! I’ve never heard of it before, but It looks really cool. I’ll have to watch ot sometime! ;D
            You raised a joey? Wow! I’ve never heard of someone raising a kangaroo before, but it seems really cool! Was he cute?

            Thank you so much for replying,
            Anikka from Techie Kids

          2. rossmannell

            Post author

            Dear Anikka,

            I only cared for the joey for a short time. He had been orphaned after his mother had been hit by a car. I decided he should be with others.

            At that time I was teaching in a small school in western New South Wales where our largest species of kangaroo, the red kangaroo, were common. The closest town to the school was 100km (60mi) away and students lived on sheep and cattle properties.

            I drove the little guy to an excellent zoo about 240km (150mi) from the school. the Taronga Western Plains Zoo.
            http://taronga.org.au/taronga-western-plains-zoo

            He was able to join a mob of kangaroos. Groups of kangaroos are known as mobs. 🙂

            @RossMannell

          3. Anikka

            Dear Mr. Mannell,

            I’m so sorry about the joey’s mom. That is so SAD! ;( But I am happy that he got to be with other kangaroos! 😉 I looked at the link that you talked about, and it looks like a good place for a kangaroo like your joey. 😉 I know that the zoo is preety far away, but do you visit it to see the joey sometimes?
            Sincerely,
            Anikka
            Techie Kids

          4. rossmannell

            Post author

            Dear Anikka,

            As in U.S.A., sometimes animals can be hit by cars as they cross the road. That is what had happened to the joey’s mother. When out hiking, if I come across an animal killed on the roads, I try to check to see if young are in the pouch. The animal sanctuary near me will try to raise orphaned animals.

            The joey I wrote about would have died many years ago now. I delivered him to the zoo in 1982. Kangaroos in captivity can live up to around 20 years but he was taken to the zoo over 30 years back. Here, I see kangaroos and wallabies almost every time I go walking. I often frighten them because they don’t expect to see humans in the forest. 🙂

            @RossMannell

          5. Anikka

            Dear Mr. Mannell,

            I’m SOOO sorry that I didn’t respond to you! 🙁 You see, I just moved and it took a really long time to set up my computer and when we finally got set up, we found out that it had a virus on it and had to take it to a computer guy. Then, we had to get it re-setup.

            I’m sorry about the joey’s mom. ;( It’s sad that people run over animals, and there isn’t much we can do about it. In fact, one night on our way home from a restaurant, my dad saw a baby turtle crossing the road. It was trying to get to the marsh on the other side, so we decided to give it a lift before it could get squashed by a car. After that,it was safe and sound. 🙂

            Anyway, thank you so much for responding! 😉
            -Anikka
            Techie Kids

  14. Claire

    Dear Mr.Mannell,

    Wow! That is so cool that you have a niece that does that. I would love to see some pictures of her costumes! I hope that I do get accepted into a major ballet comapny as for I have been audtioning for things like that now! I am very confident that i will persue my dancing career and hope that I will have a costume designed but your neice. I have happened to just audtion for two compines that I would be apart in the summer!(Joffery Ballet School and The Chicago Ballet.)

    I was thinking about my blogs future and I was trying to get creative with names. I was thinking Claire’s Ballet Blog and i could blog about all my favorite show and ballerinas and such. Thanks so much for reading my comment! Have a great day.

    Sincerley,
    Claire
    Techie Kids

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Claire,

      I have heard of the Joffery Ballet School but not of The Chicago Ballet. I am not surprised Chicago has its own ballet company. The Windy City, from what I have seen on TV and online, would be a city I would like to see if in the U.S.A.. My niece probably has heard of the ballet company. When she qualifies in her costume studies, I know she hopes to work for a ballet or opera company.

      A ballet blog sounds like a good idea. For a blog to be successful, it’s important for the blogger to enjoy their blogging topic. It may not be viewed by many boys but I know many girls love dance. We have three small dance school in my region. I have filmed for two of them.

      I always enjoy their performances but my favourite is a small school of just four classes. Each year 15 schools in my region take part in an arts festival I film. The small school always performs a dance choreographed by their school principal. Most of the students take part. Their 2010 performance to the “Alice in Wonderland” movie music is my favourite as the 5 to 12 year old boys and girls take part. Sadly, the older boys don’t normally join in but two Grade 4 boys played Tweedledee and Tweedledum. 🙂

      @RossMannell

      Reply
  15. sarah

    Dear Mr. M,
    I saw the video and it was amazing! Thank you so much for posting it. Did you see Suzie or was that just a youtube video? What is it like to live in Australia? I bet it’s beautiful. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your pictures. I have a joke: knock knock? Whos there? Boo. Boo who? Please don’t cry! 🙂

    Your friend,
    Sarah
    Techie Kids

    Reply
  16. Arianna

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    Those pictures are really cool! My favortie animal is the snake so I loved the picture of the non poisonous Black-Headed Python. My favorite snake is the Rattlesnake. When I was younger, I lived near the woods. I would go out in the woods and catch snakes. My mom would freak out and say I was a crazy little girl for picking up a snake. I knew it wasn’t poisonous, but she didn’t. After I told her, she was fine with me picking up snakes. In fourth grade, we went on a field trip to Earth Works. I got to hold a snake for the first time since I was four. A few months later, my cousin got a pet snake that was seven feet long! I used to go over there all the time to play with the snake. I don’t see him all that often now because he moved to Puerto Rico.

    I love the blog. It is really cool.

    Sincerely,
    Arianna
    Techie Kids

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Arianna,

      After watching many movies and documentaries, I know what a rattlesnake is like. None of our snakes give a warning.

      Below is a link with information on ten of Australia’s venomous snakes. Just click on each of the small photos for more information on each. Of the ten, four are found in my area. They are…

      eastern brown snake
      mainland tiger snake
      common death adder
      red-bellied black snake

      I have seen all but the death adder and once had to chase a juvenile black snake out of the school playground. I don’t try to handle venomous snakes and prefer to leave all snakes in the wild untouched but have held some pythons.

      http://www.australiangeographic.com.au/journal/view-image.htm?index=0&gid=11893

      @RossMannell

      Reply
  17. Claire

    Dear Mr. Mannell,

    Thanks so much for all the replies and information you have shared with me. This sadly is my last computer class. I will still leave comments on your posts from home for sure. I hope you are doing well.

    Just a heads up the second part of my class is about to start computers and I have told them all about your blog so I bet they will be leaving plenty of comments for you. Have fun!

    Claire
    Techie Kids
    8tg

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Claire,

      I have sent a second package to your computer teacher. It contains a DVD of the small school performance I think I had mentioned to you. Perhaps you and Emily will have a chance to see it. A little over half of the school appears on stage with some other children helping with props. The parcel was posted at 7:00 pm Tuesday your time (Wednesday morning for me). I don’t know how long it will take for Ms Moore to receive it.

      I look forward to seeing posts from your classmates. 🙂

      @RossMannell

      Reply
  18. Claire Plant

    Dear Mr.Mannell

    Thank you so much for sending me that! Me and Emily will be watching that. We are so grateful that you would do that for us I will continue to comment on your posts as I find them very educational and intresting! Thanks so much!

    Claire
    Techie Kids
    8th

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Claire,

      I have always shared with my students over the years but now my classroom, through blogging, has become more global. It seems only natural to share on blogs but some things can’t appear on blogs and need to be sent by snail mail.

      Some of the school students in the DVD do take dance classes but most of them are shown what to do by the school principal or other students. Their 2011 performance had a master chef theme and in 2012 they had a circus theme but 2010 remains my favourite. 🙂

      @RossMannell

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *