For Liv and her post on the Eiffel Tower and French Open

To see Liv's original post...

http://livsblog.global2.vic.edu.au/2012/05/24/the-french-open/

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

Dear Liv,

Welcome to the world of blogging.

It is obvious you enjoy tennis. Not too far from my house there is a tennis club with three courts. Children often attend to learn tennis and play games. There are also tennis competitions for all ages but I don’t think the club has had a big name player start there as yet.

When I comment on blogs, I sometimes see a post where I want to share a longer comment of perhaps photos, video and/or sound. Your post is one of these because of one of the questions you asked. Let’s look at your questions but I’ll leave your first question to last because it will have the longest answer.

If you know any tennis players, who do you think will win the French Open?

Perhaps what surprised me most was the elimination of Serena Williams in round one. It shows us even some of the best players can have bad days. Injuries can also slow players.

Do you have any cool facts to share about tennis or your favourite sport?

What I find interesting is how long tennis in some form has been played. Henry VIII was a fan of tennis. Here is a Wikipedia link with some information on the history of tennis…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_tennis

Do you know any interesting facts about the Eiffel Tower or France?

Below are some photos I took in 2010. They are taken from different directions. If you get to see it one day, you’ll find long lines if you want to ride the elevators up. It can take hours of waiting so it’s good to have more than one person to take turns in lines. You will also find many people selling miniature Eiffel Towers and other souvenirs.

Schools and students have permission to use these Eiffel Tower graphics for non-commercial, educational purposes.

You can click on a photo to enlarge it. When you click a photo, it will take you to a new page with just the one photo. Click the photo again and it will enlarge.

For the history and information about the Eiffel Tower, here is a Wikipedia link…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eiffel_tower_paris_in_france

If you do travel to France, knowing some French is an advantage but you’ll find many people know some English. I found the people I met very friendly but I think they were amused by a big, Aussie guy wearing an Akubra hat. One even asked if I was from Texas and I explained the hat was an Australian Akubra. 🙂

Did you know Brisbane has an Eiffel Tower? It sits above an Italian Restaurant. Of course it is not even close to the height of the real one but I can say I've sat under the Eiffel Tower (replica) and enjoyed a meal. Here is a link with some information about Brisbane's little bit of Paris.

http://www.visitbrisbane.com.au/Travel/About-Brisbane/Feature-Story.aspx?id=9121

I hope you keep blogging.

@RossMannell

Teacher, NSW, Australia

2 thoughts on “For Liv and her post on the Eiffel Tower and French Open

  1. Liv

    Dear Ross,

    …..Where do I start? I am speechless! You were so kind to make this extended post. It looks like you put in a lot of effort. I very much appreciate it. Thanks!

    I was too very surprised that both Venus and Serena Williams got knocked out in the first round, they are both outstanding players, aren’t they? Now that the sisters are gone, I think either Maria Sharapova or Victoria Azarenka might win, but sensational Sam Stosur is very intelligent with her quick on court thinking. I would love to see an Aussie win another Grand Slam.

    I looked at the Wikipedia site and it was fantastic, I learnt lots I never knew about tennis. My family says if they ever need to learn to pronounce a players name or learn about any facts, just ask me!

    Those photos from all directions are magnificent. I like how nice they look, I like photos on nice sunny days, close ups, they look so fabulous. Those facts about the Effiel Tower again were so informative. Thanks, again!

    I really wish to travel to France. My Grandparents traveled there and they said they loved it, they visited the Effiel Tower, the Leaning Tower of Pisa and another time they went to China and saw the Great Wall.

    No, I didn’t know that there was a replica of the Effiel Tower in Brisbane. I think it would be easier to visit that one than the real one!

    If you could go anywhere in the world for a holiday, where would you go?

    Your blogging buddy,
    Liv 🙂

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      Dear Liv,

      Thank you for the reply. It seems I am spending more an more time making extended comments. Just before yours, I had prepared one for a class in Calgary, Canada and have taken a break from writing another for two classes in California. Perhaps you have heard of one of them, Mrs. Yollis and class? 🙂

      Where would I go if I could go anywhere in the world? That would be a hard choice. I have been as far east as Hawaii to view the active volcanoes and as far west as Scotland, (one of the lands of my ancestors) but I have heard rumour there is a large piece of land somewhere between Scotland and Hawaii. Perhaps they are the fabled lands of Canada and U.S.A.. I think I might like to go there to see if I can discover these lands. 🙂

      Keep blogging,
      @RossMannell

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *