For Global Grade 3 – Change Makers

Click to see Global Grade 3's Original Post

Hello Global Grade 3,

How honoured I felt to be considered a change maker amongst the others you mentioned.  It was a surprise as all I do is sit in front of my computer a long way from you and share some thoughts and support for the blogs I come across, often by chance.

I was once asked to write my autobiography. Writing about your own life can be a daunting task but this one was deceptively easy. You see, I had to write my autobiography in no more than six words. How could I write about a life now only a couple years off sixty? The idea came much easier than I thought and was posted on my story blog in February. Here is what I wrote….

Seeking ways to make a difference.

(This is also now written on the cover on my Facebook timeline)

If we look at those six words, I can see all of you could write the same autobiography. Your work for Q’enqo shows you are also interested in making a difference. Differences needn’t be big. It can start with a smile and a kind word or a kind deed. As in the Butterfly Effect when applied to humans, we don’t know what might happen when we spread small differences.

When I look at the others you have written about, I was humbled to be amongst them. I have researched more about those you mentioned.

Terry Fox had his fight with cancer but he thought of others as he ran across Canada to raise awareness of cancer. He set in motion what has become an annual event.

Jeneece Edroff I found was "Vancouver Island's Penny Girl". I read more about her money raising efforts to raise money for Variety to help sick children.

I checked out the Calgary Regional Appaloosa Club, it reminded me of our local pony clubs. None are as selective as the Appaloosa but the mainly girls enjoy their times when riding. I see the Calgary club annually helps keep the local highways clean.

Serena Buffalino and her aid for Haiti was brilliant. I also was touched by the story of the conditions in Haiti and sent a donation for their aid. Her efforts remind me of a class helping establish a library in Peru.

 

In my life online, I have come across a number of change makers, some of which  have become Twitter friends. They remind me of those you have mentioned.

Bim

Meg (United Kingdom) has major health problems with her back. Unlike most 16 year old girls, she often is unable to leave bed because of pain yet we were chatting on Twitter last year when she told me she was going to set up a charity to help small children who are, as she says, ‘very poorly”. Believe in Magic was born and now has approaching 40,000 Twitter followers. Money raised goes to providing fairy and pirate parties for sick children. She has even told me there are fairy wings waiting for me if I am in the UK. For Meg and her charity, I’d wear a fairy outfit. Now wouldn't that be a funny sight? Meg suggested I might look better as a pirate.   Through her and her connections, I now follow a number of other children and their charities. While I can’t financially help in any big way, I can share kind words of support.

Next there was 11 year old Harry Moseley (UK) who had a brain tumour yet his cheerful face brought smiles to all he met. He setup a charity to raise funds for cancer research. His Twitter following is over 94,000 people. He lost his battle with cancer yet his parents continue his charity in his name and raise awareness of other children with his condition.

Then there’s 15 year old Ruth (UK). She has a rarer form of cerebral palsy and often has to struggle through the day yet she persists and has a spirit to brighten up her friends. When I first met her on Twitter she had only a couple hundred friends but now has over 15,000. In her profile, she says, “Disabled and proud of my flaws they make me unique.” She spreads awareness of cerebral palsy.

A more recent follower of mine is an 18 year old named Rachael Leahcar (her stage name). She is a contestant on Australia’s The Voice show. After I tweeted support for her I found she had followed me. Not only does she have a beautiful voice that stunned the audience, she is a Royal Blind Society Ambassador. She suffers from retinitis pigmentosa and will soon lose what little sight she has left yet she is following her dream. Below is a link to her RBS clip...

I feel honoured these people have chosen to follow me on Twitter. They are an inspiration as they try to help others despite their own problems. There are so many people who are making significant, even if small, changes in the lives of others. So many are unknown.

Now all of you are change makers, it makes me wonder what great works might lie ahead for some of you and how many of you might become quiet change makers throughout your life, the unsung heroes of change.

@RossMannell

Teacher, NSW, Australia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *