Backwoods Billy Baxter For 2/1 Class & theirs efforts to help

Original 2/1 Class post link...

http://roydon21classes.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/backwoods-billy-baxter.html#comment-form

Hello everyone,

Sometimes I enjoy a post so much I just have to comment but occasionally my comments grow too big for the comments page on the post or I want to share photos, videos or audios I think might be interesting. This happened with your post. It was so interesting.

Your ideas for Backwoods Billy Baxter are wonderful.

I have seen some scientists use heat sensitive cameras which take photos as something passes but they might be expensive. Leaving food out for animals is a great lure. Hiding cameras nearby might be a good way to record animals. As I only have one camera, I wouldn't want to risk it but it looks like Backwoods Billy Baxter has a few.

I like to film or record the sounds of animals here in Australia and know it can be hard but I think I would also need help if I were to try to film in England as I don't know the area well. Here is a little of what I have been able to record in Australia.

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

I was making a DVD for a friend who has written some children's books about animals. One of her stories was about a lyrebird. I thought it would be a good idea to record the sound of a male lyrebird singing. The male lyrebirds mostly copy the calls of other birds but can copy all sorts of sounds.

Over a three month period, I made more than a dozen trips into the nature reserve to try to record the song of a lyrebird. Here is what I was finally able to record when I was able to get close to a male lyrebird without being seen...

Schools and students have permission to use this video/audio clip for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Most of the time, I might stumble upon an animal and be able to take a photo before they disappear into the trees. Here are some photos.

Blue-tongue lizard

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

goanna

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Eastern grey kangaroo

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Koala  (male)

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

 

Kookaburra

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

 

Magpie

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Pelican

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

Wombat

Schools and students have permission to use this graphic for non-commercial, educational purposes.

2 thoughts on “Backwoods Billy Baxter For 2/1 Class & theirs efforts to help

  1. Miss BB and Badger Class

    Thank you very much Mr Mannell! We loved your blog!

    Caitlin said, “You have given us some good ideas about making animal noises for Billy Baxter’.

    Declan said, “We all thought the kookaburra was very funny! Miss BB is going to teach us a song about it!”

    We all liked your pictures of the kookaburra and all the other animals. From Harrison.

    We are going to help Backwoods Billy Baxter find some of our nocturnal critters by sharing some photographs and sound clips with him.

    Thank you for your help and ideas!

    From the Wildlife Protection and Investigation Team (WPIT)

    Reply
    1. rossmannell

      Post author

      I’m glad you enjoyed the animal post. Animal and nature photography is a hobby of mine. Sometimes I also video and record audio of animals. They can be fascinating to watch as long as you don’t frighten them. The kookaburra families can sometimes be heard through my window in the morning. Did you know they had an old nickname of “laughing jackass” because of their call?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *